Territoire_Seigneurie_Beaupre (2).jpg

HISTORY

 

Characteristics and History of the Area  

  • Seigneurie de Beaupré belongs to the Séminaire de Québec. 

  • It is the largest piece of private land in Canada, approximately 618 square miles, more than 8 times the area of Quebec’s Island of Orleans. 

  • The property forms a strip about 80 km long by 20 km wide parallel to the St. Lawrence River. 

  • For more than 100 years, the Séminaire de Québec has logged the land. These activities provided the wind farm partners with existing infrastructure they could use and consequently reduce environmental, noise and visual impacts. 

  • The quality of the property wind resources is excellent, with an average wind speed of 30 km/h. For context, the Canadian Wind Energy Association states that a wind turbine usually begins to rotate when the wind speed reaches 13 km/h. 

  • The property is located near Hydro-Québec’s high voltage (315 kV) transmission line.  

  • There are no permanent residences on the land.  

  • 201 hunting and fishing clubs are located on the property.

1636

Creation of the Seigneury de Beaupré by the Company of New France. 

1659

Mgr. François de Laval arrived in Quebec City to lay the foundations of the Church in New France. He would become

the first Bishop of Quebec. 

1662-68

Mgr. de Laval acquired the Seigneury de Beaupré to provide the community of priests he founded with the resources needed for his mission. 

1663

Mgr Laval Chamblac-officielle.png

François de Laval founded the Séminaire de Québec, which he soon

associated with the Séminaire des Missions étrangères de Paris. 

Mgr. de Laval bequeathed all of his assets, including the Seigneury de Beaupré, to the Séminaire de Québec. 

Mgr. François de Laval,

Founder of the Séminaire de Québec

Photo credit: Centre d’animation François De Laval collection 

The Great Wind Farm Adventure  

Territory's Wind Power Potential Discovered 

 

In developing a wind farm, the most important element is, of course, the wind. Not enough wind, no wind turbines. 

How do we know where there is wind? As a starting point, we can look at maps showing the wind potential in different regions. When the location has been pinpointed, we install wind measuring masts at the most promising points. The towers remain in place for at least one year. All data is recorded 24/7. From this data, we can calculate the wind factor and wind potential of a specific site. 

Accordingly, the people of Boralex, who had been looking for a site to develop a project, spent a few days walking around the Côte-de-Beaupré region, maps in hand. They came to a locked fence with the letters “SQ” on it and a phone number. They said to themselves: “What is the Sûreté du Québec doing here?” 

They called the number, and someone answered, saying: “Good afternoon, Séminaire de Québec!” Aha! SQ stands for Séminaire de Québec! That is how the Boralex team met Jacques Roberge, Superior General at the Séminaire de Québec, which was when everything came together. 

 

Development of the First Two Phases  

 

ATo help them carry out their projects, Boralex asked Energir to partner with them in developing wind farms. Jointly, they developed and built the first two phases, fleets 2 and 3 (phase 1) and fleet 4 (phase 2), which then totalled 340 MW with 254 wind turbines. In 2013, the construction of the farms was the largest construction site in the Capitale-Nationale region. 

Côte-de-Beaupré Community Wind Farm Development  

 

Concurrent with the development of the first 2 phases, in 2007, Boralex initiated talks with the La Côte-de-Beaupré RCM about creating a community wind farm with 10 wind turbines totalling 24 MW. 

What is a community wind farm? This is a project developed in collaboration with the municipality or regional county municipality (RCM) in which a project is located. As such, the municipality or RCM becomes a financial partner in the project, which enables it to receive a share of the revenue generated by the farm, in proportion to its financial participation in the project.

 

In the case of the Côte de Beaupré Wind Farm, the La Côte-de-Beaupré RCM has a 49% stake, which allows it to receive nearly 50% of the revenue the wind farm generates.

Territoire_Seigneurie_Beaupre (2).jpg

HISTORIQUE

 

Caractéristiques et histoire du territoire 

  • Le territoire de la Seigneurie de Beaupré appartient au Séminaire de Québec. 

  • Il s’agit du plus grand territoire privé d’un seul tenant au Canada. 

  • 1 600 km2 soit plus de 8 fois la superficie de l’île d’Orléans. 

  • Le territoire forme une bande parallèle au fleuve Saint-Laurent d’environ 80 km de longueur par 20 km de largeur. 

  • Depuis plus de 100 ans, le Séminaire de Québec y pratique des activités de coupe forestière. 

  • La qualité du gisement éolien y est excellente, avec une vitesse moyenne de vent de 30 km/h. À titre informatif, une éolienne commence généralement à tourner quand la vitesse du vent atteint 13 km/h, selon l’Association canadienne de l’énergie éolienne. 

  • Présence à proximité d’une ligne de transport d’électricité à haute tension (315 kV), faisant de la Seigneurie de Beaupré un territoire idéal pour le développement de projets éoliens. 

  • Aucune résidence permanente n’est située sur le territoire. 

  • Le territoire abrite 201 clubs de chasse et pêche. 

1636

Création de

la Seigneurie de Beaupré

par la Compagnie de

la Nouvelle-France.

1659

Mgr François de Laval débarque à Québec pour jeter les bases de l’Église

en Nouvelle-France.

Il deviendra le 1er évêque

de Québec.

1662-68

Mgr de Laval acquiert
la Seigneurie de Beaupré
dans le but de pourvoir
la communauté de prêtres qu’il a fondée en ressources nécessaires pour sa mission.

1663

Mgr Laval Chamblac-officielle.png

François de Laval fonde

le Séminaire de Québec qu’il associera rapidement au Séminaire des Missions étrangères de Paris.

Mgr de Laval a fait don

de tous ses biens, incluant

la Seigneurie de Beaupré, par legs testamentaire

au Séminaire de Québec.

Mgr François de Laval,

fondateur du Séminaire de Québec

Crédit photo: Collection du Centre d’animation François-De Laval.

La grande aventure des parcs éoliens

 

Découverte du potentiel éolien du territoire 

 

Pour implanter un parc éolien, l’élément le plus important, c’est évidemment le vent. 

 

Comment savoir où il y a du vent ? Comme point de départ, nous pouvons consulter des cartes indiquant le potentiel de vent dans différentes régions. Lorsque l’endroit est ciblé, nous installons des mâts de mesure de vent aux points les plus prometteurs. Les tours resteront en place pendant au moins une année. Toutes les données sont enregistrées 24h sur 24 et 7 jours sur 7. À partir de ces données, nous pouvons calculer le facteur de vent et le potentiel éolien d’un site précis. 

 

C’est ainsi que, cartes en mains, des gens de Boralex, qui étaient déjà à la recherche d’un site pour développer un projet, se sont promenés pendant quelques jours dans la région de la Côte-de-Beaupré. Ils sont finalement arrivés à une clôture cadenassée sur laquelle les lettres « SQ » était inscrites ainsi qu’un numéro de téléphone. Ils se sont dits : « Qu’est-ce que la Sûreté du Québec vient faire ici ? »

En téléphonant, au bout du fil, on a répondu : « Séminaire de Québec, bonjour! » Ah, SQ pour Séminaire de Québec! C’est ainsi que l’équipe de Boralex a fait la rencontre de M. Jacques Roberge, supérieur général du Séminaire de Québec et c’est à partir de ce moment-là que tout s’est enchaîné. 

 

Développement des deux premières phases 

 

Afin de l'aider à mener à bien ses projets, Boralex sollicite Énergir pour se joindre à titre de partenaire dans le développement des parcs. Ensemble, ils développent et construisent les deux premières phases, soit les parcs 2 et 3 (phase 1) et le parc 4 (phase 2), qui totalisent alors 340 MW et 254 éoliennes. En 2013, la construction des parcs constitue le plus important chantier dans la région de la Capitale-Nationale.  

Développement du parc éolien communautaire Côte-de-Beaupré 

 

Parallèlement au développement des deux premières phases, Boralex entame des discussions en 2007 avec la MRC de La Côte-de-Beaupré concernant l’implantation d’un parc communautaire, composé de 10 éoliennes totalisant 24 MW. 

 

Qu’est-ce qu’un parc communautaire ? Il s’agit d’un projet développé en collaboration avec la municipalité ou la municipalité régionale de comté (MRC) dans laquelle un projet est situé. À ce titre, la municipalité ou la MRC devient partenaire financier du projet, ce qui lui permet de toucher à une partie des revenus générés par le parc, et ce, proportionnellement à son niveau de participation financière dans le projet.  

Dans le cas du Parc éolien Côte de Beaupré, la MRC de La Côte-de-Beaupré est partenaire à 49 % du parc, ce qui lui permet de toucher près de 50 % des revenus générés par le parc.